How to Encrypt Files/Folders using TrueCrypt

TrueCrypt is software for establishing and maintaining an on-the-fly-encrypted volume (data storage device). On-the-fly encryption means that data is automatically encrypted right before it is saved and decrypted right after it is loaded, without any user intervention. No data stored on an encrypted volume can be read (decrypted) without using the correct password/keyfile(s) or correct encryption keys. Entire file system is encrypted (e.g., file names, folder names, contents of every file, free space, meta data, etc).

Main features:

Let’s create a TrueCrypt Container where we can store our sensitive data (files & folders).

TrueCrypt main page

Select from the menu Volumes > Create New Volume…

TrueCrypt Volume Creation Wizard

Choose first option, Create an encrypted file container.

Volume Type

On second step choose Standard TrueCrypt volume.

Volume Location (Container)

Select Volume Location on third step.

Encryption Options

Choose your desired Encryption Options.

Volume Size

You have to specify enough space for your container.

Choose Password (not less than 25 characters)

Choose a good password. A good password is a random combination of upper and lower case letters, numbers and special characters, such as !@#$%^& etc. The minimum length of your password should be 25 characters.

Volume Format

Choose NTFS Filesystem if you are going to store large files in container. Otherwise choose FAT. Before proceeding to the next step move your mouse as randomly as possible within this window to increase the cryptographic strength of the encryption keys.
Click Format button. Wait for the process to finish and click exit.

To use the encrypted container, you have to mount it. Open TrueCrypt, if it is not already opened, click on Select File… button and find mycontainer file. Choose an available Drive letter and click Mount button.

You will be asked for your password! 🙂

Mount

After this step, open explorer and you will notice a new Drive under Computer named Local Disk. This is where you store all your sensitive data. When you are done, click Dismount or Dismount All, if you have more than one container, and Exit.

Your data are safe!

 

 

%d bloggers like this: